Spread the love

Mayiladuthurai Lok Sabha Constituency 2019: Mayiladuthurai will go to polls on April 18 along with 38 other Lok Sabha constituencies in Tamil Nadu. The key contest in Mayiladuthurai in 2019 is going to be held among AIADMK’s Asaimani S, BSP’s N Kalyana Sundaram and DMK’s Ramalingam. 

Tamil Nadu has a total of 39 parliamentary constituencies where 7 of them including Sriperumbudur, Chidambaram, Rasipuram, Pollachi, Perambalur, Tenkasi, and Nagapattinam have been reserved for candidates representing scheduled caste community. However, no seat here has been reserved for Scheduled Tribes. 

Mayiladuthurai is comprised of 6 Vidhan Sabha segments out of which only one is reserved for scheduled caste candidates. The constituency is located close to 300 km from the state capital Chennai. 

Though BSP has also fielded its candidate in the region, the major contest is going to be between AIADMK and DMK Candidates. However, AIADMK’s S Asaimani may be at the backfoot on this seat given the anti-incumbency factor in the region. 

Mayiladuthurai Lok Sabha constituency 2019 candidates 

AIADMK: S Asaimani BSP:        N Kalyana SundaramDMK:       S Ramalingam

Mayiladuthurai Lok Sabha results in 2014, 2009 and 2004 

2014: RKS Bharathi Mohan of the AIADMK received 513729 votes and he defeated S Ali Hyder of the Mamak who’s secured 236679 votes. Mohan defeated Mamak’s candidate with a margin of more than 2 lakh votes. 

2009: OS Manian of the AIADMK received 364089 votes. He defeated Mani Shankar Aiyar of the Congress who got 327235 votes. 

2004: Mani Shankar Aiyar of the Congress received 411160 votes. He defeated OS Manian of the ADMK who secured 215469 votes. 

Lok Sabha elections in all the 39 constituencies in Tamil Nadu will take place on April 18.

List of all 39 Lok Sabha seats in Tamil Nadu

Thiruvallur, Chennai North, Chennai South, Chennai Central, Sriperumbudur, Kancheepuram, Arakkonam, Vellore, Krishnagiri, Dharmapuri, Tiruvannamalai, Arani, Viluppuram, Kallakurichi, Salem, Namakkal, Erode, Tiruppur, Nilgiris, Coimbatore, Pollachi, Dindigul, Karur, Tiruchirappalli, Perambalur, Cuddalore, Chidambaram, Mayiladuthurai, Nagapattinam, Thanjavur, Sivaganga, Madurai, Theni, Virudhunagar, Ramanathapuram, Thoothukkudi, Tenkasi, Tirunelveli, Kanniyakumari.

Parliamentary elections 2019 are taking place in 7 phases. The first phase voting has already taken place which was held on April 11.  The remaining phases will go to polls on April 18, April 23, April 29, May 6, May 12 and May 19. Counting of votes will be held on May 23. 

Powered by dnaindia-rss,catID-2.xml.

Spread the love


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here